Loading Events

« All Events

CIRTL Network: Developing Equity-Minded Mentors among Faculty and Researchers

February 27, 2020 @ 2:00 pm - 3:45 pm

  • This event has passed.
Emily Riddle talks to a virtual poster presenter

Findings from a recent study indicate that graduate students in the natural sciences benefit significantly from the mentoring activities of more senior students and postdoctoral fellows (Feldon et al, 2019). Such findings suggest that it is vital that all individuals (faculty, researchers, postdoctoral fellows, and graduate students) develop effective mentoring skills. In this session, participants will explore and discuss what mentoring is as well as review and apply several tools that enable an individual to employ an equity-minded approach to the mentoring enterprise.

Workshop Schedule

This one-part workshop meets online on Thursday, February 27 at 2-3:45PM ET / 1-2:45PM CT / 12-1:45PM MT / 11AM-12:45PM PT.

Registration & Enrollment

This workshop is limited to 40 participants. Registration opens Monday, December 16 and will close on Friday, February 21 at 12PM CT. Registration will be processed on a rolling basis, with participants from CIRTL member institutions and in STEM/SBE disciplines getting priority. If the workshop reaches capacity prior to February 21, registration will close early.

Accessibility

We strive to be inclusive of anyone interested in participating in our activities. If you have specific accessibility needs, please contact us at info@cirtl.net in advance so that we may make the necessary accommodations.

More information at: https://www.cirtl.net/events/748

Organizer

CIRTL Network
Email:
info@cirtl.net
View Organizer Website

Venue

Online